New Year, New Reviews!

A new year…what to do what to do…??? 

Hey, I know! I’ll do some baking with the kids and Greta the Kitchen Witch for a new review…and then read up on some Swedish living!

I’ll start with….

Sweet Revenge: Passive-Aggressive Desserts For Your Exes & Enemies

Sweet Revenge

“Stop your bitchin’ and get in that kitchen” – Heather Kim, Revenge Is Best Served Warm.

I couldn’t wait to open this book. My first thought was, “is this going to have like gummy worms coming out of a scary looking cupcake?” Haha…the answer is…NO! The author is lovingly baking sweet revenge on a very clever adventurous level! 

Mind bubble: “How do I heal all that unresolved emotional pain…..”

The author explains her point of view in “Revenge Is Best Served” and I have to admit…it actually made me cry-in a GOOD way.  She makes great points about what to do with the energy we sometimes misuse because we might be feeling THAT angry at someone else. Why not do something more constructive with it, all in the name of SWEET love!

Mind bubble: “I’ll be sticking it back to you with sugar and pickles-HUGS!”

Now I don’t consider myself a very gifted baker, but I felt VERY adventurously inspired to try at least ONE of these recipes…okay, maybe two. (Include the kids!)

Sweet Revenge Blog 4

The peanut buttercream frosting for “You’re Driving Me Bananas” was a HIT with the youngsters, “Give me more!”

I TOTALLY dig this! 

Sweet Revenge Blog 2

“You’re Driving Me Bananas” cupcake topped with candied bacon and a pickle!

Sweet Candy

Don’t be afraid to melt that candy down!

Sweet Bacon

The butterscotch candy actually DOES clean off pots and spoons easily! Make sure to use parchment paper when assembling!

The kids had a LOT of fun icing these cupcakes-I told my Daughter she would definitely be inheriting this book when she’s old enough! 

Sweet Kids Frosting

The kids did a great job on these!

NOTE for newbie bakers: Don’t forget to SPRAY THOSE CUPCAKE WRAPPERS BEFORE POURING IN THE BATTER – a lesson I myself learned today!

Mind bubble: “I once was emotionally hurt but now I’m…I’m….BAKING!!!!”

The second recipe…hehe….the author lovingly calls, Fruck Off.

Mind bubble: “I could have handled things differently, had I known better…”

This fab & fun recipe REALLY impressed my dinner guests from Europe the other night! They had even stated, “This could be served at a restaurant!!!” (Hear that, Heather Kim? You have given us a very delicious GEM here!)

Fruck Off Candy

Seriously, over all the decadent and glorious desserts I’ve tried to impress my guests (AND my kids) with. THIS was the #1 “go-to” winning dessert of the evening! 

Mind bubble: “Fritos meets Reese’s Pieces…I thought it was crazy at first but…

…golly gee, am I pleasantly pleased with these results!”

Fruck Off Dish

Thank you to my friends for trying it and LOVING it!

Candy Friends

Grab a couple of recipes from the book at: RevengeIsSweet

Available at: Amazon.com/SweetRevenge

Another really good detailed review of this book at:
RetroFoodForModernTimes.com

Next up…..

**************************************************************************

Live Lagum
Balanced Living, The Swedish Way

Live Lagom

Do you LOVE IKEA? Then you’ll especially LOVE this book!

The first magic that caught my eye here, is that I absolutely LOVE this vintage-like cover! It’s the most beautiful coffee table style book (that I actually really enjoyed reading), that I would also LOVE for my friends to be reading…you know…as they’re sitting on my couch waiting for me to get ready to go out…because it’s just that great of a sit down book. You can turn to any page and get something really cool, insightful and/or inspiring. 

My biggest takeaway here were on balance within extremes and coming from an unconscious excess and waste mindset-sometimes it’s just not our fault, if we are raised a certain way. For me, when I read books on mindfulness and any kind of personal development, I get moved into my own personal evolution via my own inspiration’s and takeaways. I can always make more positive changes. I can always make better decisions that make for a better life experience!

But WAIT WAIT WAIT WAIT!!!!

This book also features a chapter on “The Swedish Pantry” that features Swedish inspired mindful recipes…and they look SO GOOD! I get VERY excited when I see a recipe that goes deep in to culture, and these recipes I see myself making for my next tea party! This book is VERY special!

So yes! I REALLY enjoyed this book and I encourage you to at least check it out! Learn about the culture of Sweden! Inspire yourself in it’s playful pictures with words dedicated to a balance of work, home and life!

Available NOW at Amazon.com/LiveLagom

Anna Brones Website

Sign up for Anna Brones’ NEWSLETTER here

Leave a comment